A reminder:

As part of  Preservation Week 2011, a free webinar, “Preserving Your Personal Digital Memories,” is being offered by ALCTS (Association for Library Collections and Technical Services) on tomorrow. The webinar is one hour long and begins at 11 am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1 pm Central, and 2 pm Eastern Time.

Description of the webinar: Digital photos, electronic documents, and other new media are fragile and require special care to keep them useable. But preserving digital information is a new concept that most people have little experience with. As new technologies appear for creating and saving our personal digital information, older ones become obsolete, making it difficult to access older content. Learn about the nature of the problem and hear about some simple, practical tips and tools to help you keep your digital memories safe.

Presenter: Bill LeFurgy, Digital Initiatives Manager, has worked for the National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program at the Library of Congress since June 2002. He leads the NDIIPP Communications Team, which interacts with a broad range of people interested in preserving access to digital information.

To register, visit the GoToWebinar site: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/550844641