Last Friday I posted about National Preservation Week. Once of many events that have been scheduled, this free webinar on the preservation of family photographs is sponsored by ALCTS (Association for Library Collections & Technical Services), a division of the American Library Association.

The Preservation of Family Photographs: Here, There and Everywhere

April 23, 2013 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, and 2pm Eastern time

Register for this free webinar here:

https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/220086080

More information:

http://www.ala.org/alcts/confevents/upcoming/webinar/pres/042313

Description: This presentation will offer basic guidance on the care and preservation of family photographs from 19th-century tintypes to contemporary color prints. The webinar will address the fundamental physical and chemical properties of photographic print and negative materials, including albums and scrapbooks, and the causes and mechanisms of their deterioration. Strategies for preservation, such as proper handling, storage and display techniques, will be shared.

This webinar is offered for free to celebrate Preservation Week. ALCTS thanks Archival Products for sponsoring this webinar and supporting Preservation Week.

Learning outcomes: Upon completion of the session, attendees will better understand:

  • Basic characterization and identification of albumen, silver gelatin, and chromogenic color print materials, and film base negatives
  • Agents of deterioration for photographic materials
  • Storage and exhibition practices
  • Handling guidelines
  • Prioritization for preservation

Who should attend? Anyone responsible for the preservation of family or other photographic holdings and collections and interested in the preservation of our global photographic heritage.

Presenter: Debra Hess Norris is Chair of the Art Conservation Department at the University of Delaware, and Professor of Photograph Conservation.

Since 1985, Norris has authored more than 30 articles and book chapters on care and treatment of photographic materials, emergency response, ethics, and conservation education; and taught more than 100 workshops and seminars for conservators and allied professionals. Norris has lectured and consulted on the preservation of photographic collections worldwide.

For additional information and access to registration links, please go to the following website: http://www.ala.org/alcts/confevents/upcoming/webinar/pres/042313 

ALCTS webinars are recorded and registrants receive a link to the recording shortly following the live event.

For questions about registration, contact ALA Registration by calling 1-800-545-2433 and press 5 or email registration@ala.org. For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 oralctsce@ala.org.

This is a great opportunity to get professional-level basic understanding of photograph preservation.